16th October 1945

Dear Mom & Dad,

Just a line or two to let you know all the ‘latest news’. I am afraid it looks as though I shall be unlucky for more leave as I had a draft chit the day after I rang you up for “Golden Hind” and as the draft was supposed to go today they wouldn’t grant me any more leave. I don’t know where the draft is going to as it is a “mystery” draft and nobody knows where it is going to officially until they get into Barracks. It usually goes to Germany or Australia and more often than not to the latter. Still if I haven’t gone on draft by the weekend then I will “pinch” one.

I tried to get home last weekend but the train from Portsmouth to London was late and I missed the Birmingham train. Well there wasn’t another for two hours so I didn’t think it was worth going home then so instead I went to the Paramount in Tottenham Court Rd. I saw Fred McMurray and Lloyd Nolan in “Captain Eddie” and Joel McCrea in “Banjo on my Knee”. They were both very good pictures especially the first one which was about Eddie Rickenbacker the American motorist and flying ace of the first war. It isn’t a war picture though as it more or less deals with his private life.

What do you think of the football last Saturday, the Midland clubs got a thrashing or two didn’t they. The Villa have been doing well with their gates lately as well. Three 50000 gates in a row, a nice bit of income tax, or entertainment tax whatever they take off them, I expect.

How has the village been going on over the weekend, did they manage to win again.

What has the weather been like lately round Birmingham, it has been like summer down here for a week now, there has been no rain for sixteen days now.

Well I can’t think of anything more to say at the moment so I will sign off until next time.

All my love
Graham
x  x  x  x  x  x  x

Leave a Reply

