30th August 1945

Dear Mom & Dad,

Just a line or two in reply to your letter which I received on Friday. I see you posted it last Monday, I suppose it got held up over V.J. days. I received a letter from Jean this morning which I have already replied to. Did you receive my money safely that week? I have still got £1 in loose cash and £8 in my bank book and it is pay day on Thursday so I should do O.K.

There is still no further developments in my transfer yet, it usually takes three weeks before you finally see the captain. It is a terrible affair as far as red tape is concerned. First of all you put in a request to see the Divisional Officer. If he thinks your case is genuine he refers you to the Training Commander who in turn looks into your case and if he is satisfied then you eventually see the Captain, three weeks in all. Still once that is over it is only two or three days before you get the trade test.

Today we have been on a ship fire fighting course. You should have seen us when we came back. The Ink Spots had nothing on us we were just like coalmen. We had to put oil fires out with two or three different types of extinguishers. Then we had to walk through a burning house filled with smoke with a special heat. In the afternoon we had training on different types of pumps so we are now quite handy as firemen. We have to pass out in a written exam on fire fighting when we get our final exam. I think it is almost certain that I shall be home in mid September now. We pass out here about the twenty eighth of this month and go on draft within a week so that makes it about the thirteenth of September. The football season will have started by then, I hope that I can manage to get a game while I am home. We have finished cricket by the way now though football is not starting for a fortnight or so.Back of the envelope

Well I think that is about all the news for now
so I will close until next time.

All my love,
Graham
x x x x x x

 


Historical Note

Japan surrendered unconditionally on the 14th of August 1945, known as V.J. (Victory over Japan) Day. This ended the Second World War.

Leave a Reply

