8th August 1945

Dear Mom and Dad,

Just a few lines to let you know the result of my trade test. I think I told you that they failed me as an electrician but recommended me for wireman. Well today I had to see the electrical officer and he told me that they couldn’t put me through for it as wiremen were mainly used for mine sweepers and landing craft but as the war had now ended they no longer required them.

To compensate me for this they have put a note on my service papers to the effect that I am capable of doing a wireman’s job so that when I get to a sea going ship I have got to see the captain and ask for transfer to Stoker (E) which means Stoker, electrical section. This job is to do all the electrical repairs connected with the electrical apparatus in the engine room and boiler rooms which will be a pretty good job. So it seems as though I shall have to wait until I get to sea before I can do anything else.

We had  school test today, spelling and arithmetic, it was very easy and I got 100%. You see the majority of the boys are elementary school boys so the exam is elementary school standard. This trade test has properly mucked me up for the final exam on Monday as so far I have not been to a single class this week as I have been catching up on kit inspections, school test, damage control inspection and mucking about seeing divisional officer and Training Commander and Electrical Lieutenant.

We leave here on September 11th and go to Havant Royal Naval Barracks which is about ten miles out of Portsmouth. Going by what the chaps who have gone before us have done I shall be home by about the Saturday following, that is the 15th of September so if everything goes “according to plan” I shall be seeing you then. By the way Stan A. was down at Havant a month or so ago, its a pity he has left isn’t it as it would have been alright with someone that I know.

Well I can’t think of anything more to say at the moment so I will say “cheerio” for the time being.

Bye bye and all the best
Lots of love
Graham
x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x

Leave a Reply

