27th July 1945

Dear Mom and Dad,

Just a few lines to let you know that I am quite O.K. I am sending some money off tomorrow or Monday in a Registered envelope. Could you put it away for me? I haven’t been ashore for over  week so of course I am not spending any thing like my wage. I got £3.10.0 this week which is pretty exceptional I usually get £2.8.0 or £2.10.0.

I have written to Mr A. to ask him for a reference to say that I have been in the electrical trade for three years and have sufficient electrical knowledge. If I get it then I am putting in an application for a transfer to the Royal Marines as an electrician.

Alan W. by the way didn’t pass his exam at Portsmouth and had to go to Skegness. He has been there eight weeks now waiting for a trade test to get into the Marines in the same branch as I am trying to get in. Geoff P. is still going strong in the J.P.E.M. course, he is in the third month now, he certainly must have his head screwed on right. I haven’t heard from Norman since I came back off leave so he must have gone on draft somewhere. I have written twice to him so I think I will write to his home address.

If I stop on this course until I get to Portsmouth I have heard they usually send the ratings straight home on indefinite leave as the place is so crowded. It would suit me down to the ground although I suppose I would rather get in the Marines as a “sparks”.

What do you think of the war news tonight, it’s certainly come as a surprise. I expect the Japs are a bit windy about the Atom bomb it must be a terrible weapon.

Well I will sign off for now as it is time to turn in.

All my love
Graham
x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x
x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x  x


Historical Note

The ‘war news’ could be referring to the announcement of the Potsdam Declaration on the 26th of July. Winston Churchill, (US President) Harry Truman and (Chairman of the Chinese government) Chiang Kai-shek issued an ultimatum, calling for the unconditional surrender of Japan; the alternative was ‘prompt and utter destruction’. The document did not explicitly mention the successful atom bomb trial. It was broadcast over public radio in English and Japanese, and American bombers dropped leaflets outlining the main points. Both listening to the broadcasts and reading the leaflets were banned by the Japanese government. Emperor Hirohito of Japan did not surrender.

Leave a Reply

