30th March 1945

Dear Mom & Dad,

I am writing this on firewatch duty in the cinema. I am on patrol from 9-30 till 11-0 tonight which is not so bad. I have sent a parcel today containing my dirty washing.

I had to see the dentist today and had one tooth out and one stopped. Luckily it didn’t hurt me and I stopped bleeding within about five minutes. They don’t give us cocaine or gas, it is a new idea, they administer it the same as cocaine but the effect is much better, you can’t feel a thing. We are well on the way in our course now, we are quite smart now on the parade ground now, and knots, well I didn’t think there where so many to know. I can do most of them as I used to know a lot of them in the scouts.

We also have started our P.T. here, do they put us through it.

It is like the excercises on the wireless in the morning only tent imes as fast – up, down, up, down, up, down, up down till we are almost dizzy. We have also had a game of rugby, what a mad game, there are three of our chaps in sick bay with black eyes and one with a bruised thigh.

As well as this we have four in sick bay with blisters and two with colds. On top of this there is usually two men each day excused parades because they have had their teeth out.

There is still hope that we may go to Malvern it may be in two or three weeks time but we cannot take this as definite as it is still unofficial. Norman went to see if  he could get his marriage leave but the officer said he could not give him a definite answer as he thought we were going on draft on April 11th. Still we shall know in a day or two.

Well I cannot think of anything more to say at the moment so I will sign off as it is nearly time to go on patrol.

Bye  bye for now
Lots of love
Graham
x  x  x  x  x


Historical Note

Cocaine was the first local anaesthetic, although procaine, also called novocaine, was invented in 1905 and was used widely by 1945.

Leave a Reply

